Sending Monster Sized Love card

I had a ball with this one, I was a bit in a whimsical mood and a new challenge was posted on the Frilly and Funkie blog ‘All you need is LOVE

Here is what Zoe said;

Hello and welcome! Zoe here and I’m delighted to be hosting the Frilly and Funkie challenge. With Valentines just a couple of weeks away, I’ve chosen “ALL YOU NEED IS LOVE” as the challenge theme. It’s time to let cupid draw his paintbrush and create a vintage or shabby chic project with the word “LOVE” somewhere on the project. It can be the focus or just a tiny detail.

Sending Monster Love (1)

I started with the Sizzix Tim Holtz ‘Silly Monsters’ thinlits, cut from watercolor cardstock, inked up one side of embossing folder and ran through Vagabond. I then sent the die cuts through again with black packaging cardstock. I inked up the embossed areas of the monsters to tone down the white a little. Added double-sided tape to the back of the monsters and replaced voids with the black pieces. I couldn’t let the body go to waste so I offset that behind the monster.

The background is done by putting Distress Ink directly on a acrylic block (I even used a idea-ology fragment square), spritzed with water and then pressed onto TH white substrate sheet.

The quote is stamped with Archival ink using Close to my Heart ‘Doodle Alphabet’ and Love is by Recollections.

Here are some close ups of these guys …

Sending Monster Love (2)Sending Monster Love (3)Sending Monster Love (4)Sending Monster Love (5)

I was trying to decide if I have a favorite but nope they are all toooo darn cute!

Thanks for viewing and have a blessed day!

 

5 comments

  1. Wendy, these little guys are adorable! I love that you embossed them; it gives them even more ‘loveability”, especially the little green fella who looks like he has a bad case of warts. I’m so happy you shared this with us at Frilly and Funkie! Hugs! Sara Emily

    Like

  2. Love your little monsters Wendy, especially the embossed detail. I couldn’t pick a favourite either. Thanks for joining us for the “All you need is LOVE” challenge over at Frilly and Funkie.

    Like

  3. Adorable! Made me smile! Love the happy colors you used on this happy and whimsical valentine! Thank you for joining us in the Frilly and Funkie “All you Need is Love” challenge!

    Like

  4. I really like how you embossed these monster dies Wendy! What fun! A riot on a card! 🙂 We’re so thankful you shared with us at Frilly & Funkie. Happy Valentine’s Day! Hugs, Autumn

    Like

Leave a comment