Organic Dragonfly

Hello and welcome. I hope you are enjoying the update to the website.

Today I was inspired by a card that Bobbi Smith created for Tim Holtz and Creativation (you can find hers here). If you get a chance be sure to follow the blog hop, tons of inspiration.

dragonfly (1)

Right after I seen her card, I had to get my hands on some mica flakes (thanks Amazon!). I was giddy today when it arrived, it is such a unique organic substance I know I will be playing around with it a ton in the near future. Anyway on with some details.

dragonfly (5)

For the background, I happen to be on Youtube early today and caught Wendy Vecchi’s isopropyl alcohol technique on the Ranger channel. I have tried it in the past but knew I had to give it ago again. I have the designer series Wendy Vecchi archival ink big pad and squashed the pad on a non-stick craft sheet. I only had 51% IA and squired that into the ink. Dragged a Distress tag through the solution and watched it transform, really is gorgeously organic looking.

I then stamped the dragonfly from Stampers Anonymous Classics #1 SCF001 with ground espresso archival ink. Added just a tad of glossy accents to the wings.

dragonfly (2)

I used Stampers Anonymous Tim Holtz Reflections CMS111 with jet black archival and stamped onto a piece of mica.

dragonfly (3)

I used TH alcohol ink in mushroom and lightly touched tip to edges of the mica and it was so cool to watch the layers soak up and spread the ink. I adhered the layers with glossy accents, you can see a bit of it but I think it just adds to the look.

dragonfly (4)

I roughed up the edges of the tag with the TH distressing tool and slid the edges through Distress spray in walnut stain. It was a nice surprise how differently the stain soaked into the tag due to there being dried rubbing alcohol in the paper.  I added a TH Idea-ology token that was distressed a bit with alcohol inks and added a rub-on. Added a few other elements and the card was done.

Thanks for viewing and have a blessed day 😉

 

I am submitting this to these challenges~

Craft Stamper  ~  Anything Goes (stamps used SCF001 & CMS111)

 

 

2 comments

  1. I am thoroughly inspired by your dragonfly card, and I can’t wait to get into the Closet to give this a try! What a fabulous color combo, and grungy details! YES! A New FAVORITE! By the way, I had a peek at your Mar. 2017 post on Oxides and glossy paper. I think Tim’s been sniffing around your blog…Ha! Ha! Have a wonderful day, my inspiring friend!

    Like

Leave a comment