‘Love’ Valentine Decor

I was asked by a couple members of Tim Holtz Addicts (not a member? find us on FB and you won’t regret it~ tons of inspiration and a great, supportive group of peeps) to do a tutorial on this piece. Due to not planning on doing a blog post, I do not have step out photos but will do my best to explain how this piece came to be.

Main box was done by gluing paper from my stash which is I believe Graphix 45 scrapbook 12 x 12 sheet. The corners were sanded and then distressed with Walnut Stain Distress Ink.

I inked some Distress White Heavy Cardstock with Festive Berries Distress Ink, die cut using Heatbeat Thinlit die and then applied Rock Candy Crackle which was air dried. Once dry, Black Soot Spray was brushed on, created some ‘puddled areas’ and allowed to flow into the cracks to have them stand out. I then used Distress Crayon in Walnut Stain to distress the heartbeat. Love is a Wendy Vecchi Mat Mini that I painted with black gesso then applied Gilded Alcohol ‘Alloy’ Ink to, this made for a wonderful chippy effect that I wasn’t expecting.

The wings were cut out of watercolor cardstock, applied distress collage medium to and then colored them up by applying Distress Crayon in Walnut Stain to dirty them up a little. The frame was done just like the love~ painted black, used Distress Alloy in Gilded on and then DC in Walnut Stain in some of the crevices.

That’s about it….. I do hope this project and the post has inspired you to give this a go yourself.

Until next time have a blessed day! xxx

Wendy

Leave a comment