‘i luv u’ 5 x 7 card

Good day friends and happy New Year! So far this year I been in a bit of a rut you may call it due to having tons of fun creating backgrounds and starting projects but unable to get a focal layer or complete it. So I was delighted when this card made it past the stumped stage, unfortunately, I had stopped taking process photos. I will still share what I did under the close ups 😉

Cec over at Frilly and Funkie is the hostess for the current challenge:

I am calling this first challenge ‘Three Is Not A Crowd’ and here is what I have to say about it:
Create a vintage or shabby chic project that includes three of something. Examples of three of something could be three different patterned papers, three colours, three layers, three flowers, three bows – the list goes on. This would be a perfect time to use some of the new supplies you received for Christmas or to make space in your stash by using up old supplies. Just remember to think in multiples of three.

dabbledoday i luv u (1)

I don’t know if this qualities as vintage or shabby chic but I did pretty much 3 of everything (I usually work in ‘odd’ numbers anyway).

3 colors- THD picked raspberry, rusty hinge, chipped saphire

3 hearts, 3 layers, 3 words, 3 washi tapes, 3 dots 3 places, 3 stencils …..

dabbledoday i luv u (3)

for the background I used a cut 4 1/2 x 6″ piece of Bristol. My current favorite technique is kind of like ‘ghosting’. Using a blending tool with picked raspberry through stencil THMM3 in one area, I then spritz with water and lay down the inked stencil in another area. So really it is like using the positive and negative of the stencil. I did this THMM3 (lattice portion ~ so excited, I finally broke down and bought the full stencil of this and it’s coming today) THS095 stripes and THMM2 cracked.

dabbledoday i luv u (2)

the alpha stickers are by Recollections. The hearts were die cut using TH Sizzix Bigz Heartfelt 660233 with mop up ink piece of Bristol. I inked the edges with chipped sapphire and then used glossy accents to match the shine from the vinyl alpha stickers.

dabbledoday i luv u (6)

I used THD oxide in picked raspberry for the card base. Oxides are like blending butter, so vibrant and opaque, which for this layer I didn’t really want white to show through. For the middle layer I used TH texture fades embossing folder ‘linen’ i believe is the name. I inked one side with THD picked raspberry on one side first then ran through the Vagabond. I then took THD rusty hinge direct ink pad to raised areas of the cardstock. I thought this looked perfect against the inked up edges of the main background in chipped sapphire.

dabbledoday i luv u (5)

dabbledoday i luv u (4)

2 of the washi tapes are Tim Holtz and the eyes are Jane Davenport. I have about 40 rolls but don’t seem to use them, so I told myself ‘no more’ until you start using some of what you have, lol. I then machine stitched along side the tapes to add a bit of texture that was needed.

 

dabbledoday i luv u (7)

Thanks for joining me and I do hope that I have inspired you in some way to give this card a try.

 

 

3 comments

  1. Beautiful card, Wendy! I love the depth you’ve created with your stencil work, and the colors look fabulous together-both warm and a bit chilly at the same time! Those hearts are gorgeous! You have really taken Cec’s three theme and ran with it! Hugs!

    PS Thank you for playing along at Frilly and Funkie! I was thrilled to see you linked up!

    Like

    • I was actually working on a three tiered canvas but it didn’t pan out, lol. Who knows, it may still get completed… I love how any combo of distress colors look great together. Thank you for your kind words, they make me smile ear to ear. xo!!!

      Like

  2. Such great techniques and I love your artsy style! You continue to be a huge inspiration to me and I appreciate it so very much! We’re always glad for any of your art to be linked up. As a frilly girl, I often am a little off the frilly side myself! 🙂 We truly encourage creativity (just not CAS!) LOL! Big hugs, Autumn

    Like

Leave a comment