My word for 2018 ‘Self’

Good day friends (I love how James Burke says it, always makes me smile)! For 2017 I started picking a inspirational word for the year, kinda like a new year’s resolution for me instead of a list of things to do. I thought of ‘Freedom” often and it worked for me…. Let me go through the making of my project first then I will share why I picked “Self” for 2018.

self etc tag (11) wm

Self Etc Tag (1)

I started with a piece of 140lb watercolor paper cut to size of medium sized Etcetera Tag by Tim Holtz. I then inked up my craft sheet with distress inks in blue.

Self Etc Tag (2)

Spritzed my paper with water then dragged through the wet ink on my craft sheet. I stayed with regular Distress Inks because I was looking for transparency.

Self Etc Tag (3)

In the pools of wet ink I dipped the mini stencil THMS042 and placed down in white spots. I have recently been using this method a lot.

Self Etc Tag (4)

Once completely dry I did the same with reds….

Self Etc Tag (5)

although with the reds I used full sized THS002, using both ways.

Self Etc Tag (6)

I rough it up with some 150 grit sandpaper, I really wanted the scratches to dig in deep.

Self Etc Tag (7)

I then added the browns, same way as the other two colors, being careful to avoid colored areas. looking to really just ‘dirty’ it up a bit.

Self Etc Tag (8)

For this step, I cut the word out on my new (to me anyway, thanks Deb) original small Cricut. I used the negative space like a stencil and applied crackle paste and allowed to air dry.

Self Etc Tag (9)

I added words in numerous ways…. alpha stamps, rub ons, painted…..

Then added embellishment layers, I didn’t take step pictures of these due to add whatever is your fancy or whatever you have on hand …. here are some close ups of the finished project.

self etc tag (10)

a few Idea-ology bits, mirrored heart cut from Bigz die ‘heartfelt’, chit chat saying, ink added to DIY petaldo flower, indian inked fragment.

self etc tag (12) self etc tag (13)

self etc tag (14)

self etc tag (15)

I love how the inks crept up through the crackle paste and chipped in areas.

self etc tag (16)

self etc tag (17)

So why ‘Self’? For me this year I need to focus on myself, not in a selfish way but rebuild parts of my inner self that need work and can only be fixed by me. My self-confidence, self-love, self-acceptance, self-worth, self-expression, self-care, self-trust. To remind me to talk positively and not negatively at myself.

Thank you for viewing and be sure to share if you have a word for 2018! xo

 

 

4 comments

  1. Hi, love your art and your choice of word. It isn’t selfish to look after ourselves. I love the ‘grungy’ feel to your piece. Isn’t James just delish? Thanks for sharing,
    Ngaire x

    Like

  2. Wendy, this is a fabulous way to serve as a reminder to think and act positively to help create a better life for you in 2018! I love the background (Thank you for the tutorial! As always, greatly appreciated!) and all the bits you’ve used. ‘Self’ crackled and shadowed like that is fabulous! I’ve just decided to let go of my original cricut and all the cartridges, but now you’ve got me re-thinking that decision! It may be worth the space it consumes simply for the stencil value! Thanks! I’ve got a large hoard of fragments, and you’ve inspired me to use them more in my artwork! One word describes this post–INSPIRING! Sending hugs!

    Like

Leave a comment